WHS Undergrad Awards Listed

Achievements in academics, the arts, physical fitness and community values recognized.

Awards were given to underclass students at Wellesley High School on June 9 to

recognize "the talents and commitment of students who have excelled in a special way."

The awards program cites studentsʼ achievements in academics, the arts, physical

fitness and community values.

The following are underclass award recipients:

Copell Junior Leadership Award presented in memory of Susan Copell to a member

of the Junior class who most exemplifies Ms. Copellʼs ability to lead through example:

Courtney Green

METCO Academic Achievement Award: Freshman Dara Johnson, Sophomore

Rebecca Silva, Junior Cameron McCormick

Hurricane Island Outward Bound Leadership Award: Cody Schwass

ABC Achievement Awards: Yina Cordero, Antonia George

Wellesley Junior Womenʼs Club Awards: Collin Hull, Brooke Nash

College Book Awards

Boston University School of Education Book Award: AnnaMary Harris

Harvard Book Award: Katerina Lin

Lehigh University Book Award: Eva Lauer

University of New Hampshire Book Award: Connor Hawkinson

Wellesley College Book Award: Michelle Silver

University of Virginia Jefferson Book Award: Alexander Robertson

Brown University Book Award: Danae Metaxa-Kakavouli

Bryn Mawr College Book Award: Eleanor Stoeckle

Bucknell University Book Award: Leah Fessler

Colgate University Book Award: Soojin Kim

Columbia University Book Award: Austin Sedaghatpour

Cornell University Book Award: Margaret Dore

Dartmouth College Book Award: Blake Dietrick

Holy Cross Book Award: Lauren Baer

Smith College Club West of Boston Book Award: Bo Julie Crowley

Wheelock College Book Award: Sarah Feiner

Yale University Book Award: Andrew Griswold

Mount Holyoke College Book Award: Victoria Gerald

Princeton University Book Award: Claire Bradach

St. Michaelʼs College Book Awards: Nathan Cheek, Lara Halamka

The George Washington University Book Award: Michael DʼOrtenzio

Williams College Book Award: Daniel Dylewsky

Art Department

National Scholastic Art Awardʼs Silver Medal in Photography: Paige Bashian

The Boston Globe Scholastic Art Awards Recognition

Gold Key Photography: Paige Bashian, Katharie Lofblad

Silver Key Jewelry: Elizabeth McTighe

Painting: Leejoo Bae, Rohan Bhatt

Photography: Caroline Fahey

Honorable Mention Drawing: Tyler Lash

Photography: Leah Fessler, Alyssa Flores

Underclass Achievement Art Achievement Awards

Animation: Myra Wilson

Ceramics: Tiffany Chow, Kelsey Walsh

Creative Journal: Molly Hayden

Digital Arts: Michelle Abrams, Ali Harkavy

Drawing & Painting: Rohan Bhatt, Evelyn Garrity, Anna Seeler

Jewelry: Lillye Anderson

Photography: Leah Fessler

Classical & Modern Language Department

Chinese Awards

Chinese I: Conor Chinitz

Chinese II: Kelvin Chen

Chinese Book Award: Lauren Kennedy

French Awards

French I: Katherine Bell

French II: Bennett Capozzi

French III: Nathan Cheek, Rachel Wang

French IV: Kevin Bu, Eve Roth,

French V: Hani Azzam

French Book Award: Bo Julie Crowley

German Awards

German I: Carolyn Skelly

German II: Lee Wickham

German III: Peter Lu

German IV: Spencer Resnick

German V: Eleanor Stoeckle

German Book Award: Pauline Hickey

Latin Awards

Latin I: Abigail Henry

Latin II: Brian McMahon

Latin III: Garrett Lam

Latin IV: Katerina Lin

Latin Book Award: Gray Tanner

National Latin Exam: Katerina Lin, Gray Tanner

Spanish Awards

Spanish I: Hani Azzam, Jonathan Ceru

Spanish II: Zahra Pirani

Spanish III: Rachel Wang

Spanish IV: Phoebe Weatherall

Spanish V: Claire Bradach

Spanish Book Award: Michelle Silver

English Department

Elaine Dixon Freshman English Award for exceptional achievement in English:

Amanda Harkavy

Freshman New Century Book Award for extraordinary effort or exceptional

growth: Cecilia Acuna

Taffy Zimbler Book Award for exceptional achievement in Sophomore English:

Christopher McKenna

Sophomore New Century Book Award: Yina Cordero

Junior Book Award for Excellence in English: Kevin Bu

Junior New Century Book Award: Andrew Suttle

Family & Consumer Science Department

Junior Business Awards: Adam Farina, Matthew Farina, Ashley Slaboden

Junior Finance Excellence Award: Alexander Liem

Teaching Young Children Award: Jessica Hoffman

Fitness & Health Department

Marathon Sports Adventure Leadership Award: Monica Roberts

Marathon Sports Award: Matthew Norwood

Mathematics Department

Mathamatics Book Awards

Sophomore: Rebecca Goldberg

Junior: Allen Wirth

Wellesley Rotary Club Awards

Freshman: Jaclyn Lunger

Sophomore: Joshua Langowitz

Junior: Kevin Bu

Wellesley Education Foundation

Freshman Mathematics Award: Rebecca Taylor

Freshman Science Award: Bennett Capozzi

Performing Arts Department

Choral Award: Alysa Dillon

Theatre Award: Noam Waksman

Technical Theatre: Nora Rogers

Dance Award: Michelle Abrams

Band Award: Fay Khudairi

Orchestra Award: Erica Chen

Eastman School of Music Award: Jacqueline Zhou

Leslie Holmes Young Artists: Alysa Dillon, Eleanor Mears, Monica Roberts, Nora


Science & Technology/Engineering Department

Edward H. Herlin Chemistry Book Award: Rachel Wang

Biology Award: Michelle Silver

Science Book Awards

Biology: Katherine Bell

Chemistry: Hayden Fowler

Earth Science: Cecilia Acuna

Bausch & Lomb Science Award: Katerina Lin

Technology/Engineering Award: Alexander Freedman

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute University Award: Kevin Bu

Social Studies Department

Gardner Marchant Freshman Award: Anna Zannetos

Freshman Award: Emma Roache

Ernest F. Upham Sophomore Award: Riley Jacobs

Sophomore Award: Melissa Demeo

Eleanor Roosevelt Junior Award: Victoria Blalock

Philip Whitbeck Junior Award: Samuel Harris


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »